Free-Style Knitting – The Coozy Mitten

 

The knitted coozy-mitten started out as a joke. After taking up knitting a little over a year ago, my family has been generous with their ideas of items I could knit for them. Their suggestions vary from scarves and sweaters to blankets embroidered with their face or a knitted Charizard toy. My cousin P suggested the knitted coozy-mitten idea over Thanksgiving.
After the commotion of the holidays settled down, I found myself ready to take on new projects. My cousin P’s birthday was approaching so I figured, why not give it a shot? I had a set of new double-pointed size 8 needles and some red yarn. Perfect time to experiment.
DSC_0122

Cold beer, warm hands.

I don’t have a pattern for these coozy mittens, so I decided to make one up. I’ve also never knitted mittens before, so this was truly an experiment.
After cast-on, I did simple ribbing and then stockinette stitch in the round. When I reached the point for the thumb gusset, I decided to divide the stitches in half, securing half on a stitch holder and dividing the remaining sitches across four needles. Then, with the live stitches I once again joined in the round with an increase row and continued around.
DSC_0027

About halfway through the project, part of the hand completed and starting the other half.

At about the halfway point I bound off and then picked up the stitches from the holder, rejoining the yarn and knitting another identical side. When I reached the point that the two sides were equal and would fit around my test can of ginger ale, I bound off and sewed the two ends together to make a continuous loop on the inside. The bound-off edges sewn together created a pretty stitch detail that I hadn’t anticipated.
DSC_0119

In-process stitching the bottom of the coozy-mitten.

 To finish the piece, it needed a bottom on the mitten to prevent the can from sliding through. Using two of my double-pointed needles, I cast-on 6 stitches and continued with knitting in stockinette stitch, increasing on the knit side by 2 stitches each row until I came to the center row, then I decreased the stitches by reversing the pattern.

 

DSC_0121

The finished coozy-mitten, with my trusty test can of ginger ale.

The finished coozy-mitten came out better than I could have expected. I was so thrilled to complete my second pattern design. It may not be perfect yet, but I expect this won’t be the first cozy-mitten I make. And best of all, my cousin liked his birthday gift!!

Until next time, happy knitting!

Leave a Reply

