Two Knitted Gifts

Knitting is one of those fantastic pastimes in that it’s portable. When you’re busy and on the go, your knitting goes with you. (Obviously, not talking to you, arm-knitted blanket in extra-super bulky yarn).

The spring was super busy, but my knitting went with me in my purse and I finished two cool projects that I wanted to share with you.

Most importantly, I FINISHED MY FIRST SUCCESSFUL PAIR OF SOCKS!!!!

I’m quite proud of this, can’t you tell? I knit a pair of large, men’s socks for my Dad for Father’s Day. His grandmother (my great-grandmother) had knit him a pair of wool socks ages ago. These socks are at least 30 years old, if not older, and they were falling apart. When I first started knitting my mom gave them to me to darn, but let’s be real, you can’t darn socks when you’re still learning the difference between a knit and a purl stitch. I gave it my best shot, but it couldn’t save them. So I decided I wanted to make Dad a new pair.

I found a super-helpful book at the library, How to Knit Socks that Fit by Donna Druchunas. This book is basically how I learned to knit socks. I loved it so much, I went out and bought my own copy.

The socks came out great, and my Dad was really excited to receive them. I don’t think he was expecting them (although I had been knitting during both my brothers’ graduation ceremonies this spring). I kept it a surprise from everyone except my Grandma. It was less pressure that way in case I wasn’t able to make them.

The other adorable project I finished was a newborn baby’s cap. A friend’s baby is due this summer and she had a Winnie-the-Pooh themed baby shower. I love Winnie-the-Pooh, so I knit a cute, simple Pooh hat with little ears. I didn’t follow a pattern for this one I just made it up as I went. It was a fun and quick, whimsical knit!

I’m working on another fun knitting project that you may have seen on Instagram, it’s another cool pair of socks!

Leave a Reply

