Knit Bag Essentials

Summer involves a lot of traveling, so I keep my knit bag stocked with key things I need. Here’s what comprises my travel knitting essentials. 

The Bag

DSC_0728

A gift from my cousin, it’s made from recycled fabrics by ScrapSacks(TM) in Lowell, MA. It’s a good size with a zipper closure so there’s no need to worry about anything falling out.

The Craft

DSC_0730

Right now I’m working on a pair of socks, so I have my current skein of yarn and the project is on Takumi size 3 double-pointed needles.

Ruler

DSC_0729

The sock pattern I follow doesn’t provide instructions in counts of rounds, instead it’s done by inches. Hence why I need a ruler. My grandma gave me this ruler when I started knitting, it’s a lightweight plastic. It features the US Presidents and their terms on the front and back; the list ends with Lyndon B. Johnson’s term starting in 1963.

Stitch Holder

DSC_0733

I’m working on a sock, so when I get to the heel, the stitch holder will really come in handy. This one is a large loop with a white plastic stopper. It used to be my great-grandmother’s.

Stitch Markers

DSC_0734

I keep a small collection of stitch markers handy, because it seems that when I don’t have them I need to use hair ties until I get home. The little pouch came with a knitting kit I bought at the Gore Sheep Shearing Festival this spring.

Scissors

DSC_0731

My grandma gave me these travel scissors. They fold up to enclose the blades and fit neatly in this little pouch.

Crochet Hook

DSC_0732

Nothing grabs a dropped stitch faster than a crochet hook. This one is a size 5 or F.

The Pattern

DSC_0735

This book is compact and light enough that I can carry it with me. My other go-to is to print or photocopy the pattern so it’s easy to take with me. Sometimes I jot down notes and take those with me as well.

Leave a Reply

