Thoughts on Socks

The first sock is finished! For these Hubby Socks as I’ve taken to calling them, I’m using a basic toe-up pattern from the book How to Knit Socks that Fit, although I’ll admit I’m starting to question the accuracy of that title.

Hubby Sock 1st Complete 1

This variegated yarn (Carlton Yarns) knits up in a really fun pattern!

It’s a very fat sock; I still need work on knitting socks to fit people’s feet. I think I knit this sock about 2-inches larger in every direction than it needed to be. My husband is a good sport about it though and said they will be nice slipper socks (he’s really excited that I’m knitting him socks, so he honestly doesn’t mind that they’re too large). In hindsight, I should have checked the sizing of the sock by having him put it on earlier in the project. Toe-up sock patterns allow for more control with sizing, and I didn’t take advantage of this fact.

The discouraging part with socks, is that the elation of finishing a project is somewhat marred because this is really only the half-way point. I cast on the second sock, but haven’t made too much progress. I’m still working the short-row decreases to build the toe. I haven’t tried the magic loop method yet, maybe for my next sock project I’ll give that a try.

This project makes for great travel knitting though, because it’s so light and compact. While on vacation I’ve been toting this project to the beach. The simplicity of stockinette stitch also makes it a great project for multi-tasking. I can knit while watching a movie and not worry about missing a crucial part of the pattern. I can’t wait to finish the second sock, because I’m curious as to how the variegated yarn will pattern for the mate.

Happy Knitting!

Leave a comment